Sometimes, you just need a corn dog. #glutenfree #giveaway

8 Dec
Crispy, delicious, gluten free corn dogs. Like whoa.

Crispy, delicious, gluten free corn dogs. Like whoa.

Disclaimer: Yeah, another semi-sponsored post. I’ll write up the killer chicken soup I just made pretty soon, as well as a review of a paleo-style dinner I recently attended. But this is free GLUTEN FREE corn dogs, people. And they’re awesome. And I knew they were awesome before I was contacted about giving them away, and I wouldn’t have put them on here if they weren’t. So there. 🙂 

Over the past ten years or so, I’ve learned quite a bit.

Eat whole, unprocessed foods to be healthy.

Eat a minimum of sugar, fat and starch if you can help it.

And the best rule of all: Every so often, shuck the rules.

Unfortunately for me, my rules must always include being gluten free, lest I spend the next day or so in the bed or restroom. (Le sigh.) So, when the time comes to totally be naughty, what do I want?

::Cue Spice Girls…I’LLTELLYOUWHATIWANT, WHATIREALLYREALLYWANT::

I want a corn dog. A crispy, salty, delicious corn dog.

Mustard

A few months ago, I noticed someone on the local Gluten Intolerance Group Facebook page talking about some amazing new gluten-free corn dogs that were available at Kroger. “Not me!” I silently gloated. “I don’t eat such things.” And I stared. And I really, REALLY wanted one. Slathered with mustard. Mmmmmmmmmmm…….

So the next time I was at Kroger, I looked around. Nobody was looking. I slid some into my cart. BAM.

gf_corndogsThey were Foster Farms Gluten Free Corn Dogs. And they were glorious. I found that I liked them cooked a little longer than the package says — baked in the oven, of course, not nuked — for optimum brown crunchy awesome.

So, although I usually tell people NOT to buy a lot of pre-packaged gluten free things, let me just assure you that it will be okay. As long as this isn’t representative of your diet, you’re gonna be fine. A few packages of gluten free Oreo-lookalikes won’t kill you, either. (Omigosh Trader Joe’s, WHY won’t you come to Little Rock??) Trust me, my pantry has its share of occasional treats.

Want to give these dogs a try? Sure you do.

It just so happened that, about a month after I purchased the aforementioned box, Foster Farms contacted me about the same product. I figured I could confess to them that I’d already bought some. And they had a cool offer for my readers who also just really, really wanted a (gluten free) corn dog.

Bite at angle

Mention in the comments how you like to eat your corn dogs. (With ketchup or mustard? Part of a meal or alone? Balanced with fruit and/or veggies or whatevs?) We’ll pick five commenters and Foster Farms will ship you your VERY OWN BOX, you guys. Comments close on Monday, Dec. 22.

I’m like the Oprah of corn dogs.

Oprah of corn dogs

Now that my secret is out, I guess I’ll eat more salad this week.

And some Joe-Joe‘s…

20 Responses to “Sometimes, you just need a corn dog. #glutenfree #giveaway”

  1. Becky Thomas December 9, 2014 at 9:45 AM #

    Yummy! With mustard and veggies to balance everything out!

  2. Jeanne December 9, 2014 at 1:52 PM #

    One with ketchup, one with mustard because I can’t decide which would be yummiest …….. hidden in a closet from my 5 kids who would eat ALL of the corn dogs before I got a single bite (sigh) with a side of carrot sticks (if I successfully enjoyed my own corn dogs).

  3. Alicia December 9, 2014 at 10:42 PM #

    Honey mustard for dipping and I try and balance out most of the time with veggies but often just have the corn dog 😉

  4. Celia December 10, 2014 at 1:10 AM #

    Honey mustard, I tell you — the sweet with the crunchy salty <3. I don't care what goes next to my corn dog. Fruits, veggies, cake -whatever. It's a corn dog.

  5. LaJeana December 10, 2014 at 9:04 AM #

    With spicy brown mustard!!

  6. enticinghealthyeating December 10, 2014 at 10:01 AM #

    Yummy! I like mine with mustard and balanced with veggies

  7. Ellen December 10, 2014 at 10:06 AM #

    Spicy brown mustard all the way!

  8. dolls62 December 10, 2014 at 10:24 AM #

    With mustard, for my lunch at work (which sadly means nuking them, but I can live with that if it means I can have corn dogs!) 🙂

  9. sherri clay December 10, 2014 at 3:05 PM #

    Baked in the oven with mustard!

  10. Grace Grits and Gardening December 11, 2014 at 4:35 PM #

    Yes! I try to eat gluten free as often as possible. And yes, a girl does need a corn dog every now and then. With mustard please. Regular.Yellow.French’s.Mustard.

  11. redbakingapple (@redbakingapple) December 15, 2014 at 10:56 PM #

    I like to eat mine with ketchup! delicious!

  12. evnemsi December 17, 2014 at 7:27 PM #

    “Sometimes” you just need a corndog? How about ALWAYS you need a corndog?! I love ’em plain, on a stick, nothing with it, not even water to wash down the salty tongue remnants. I always did corndogs as a snack way back when. Although, I would have fries with them sometimes. But NO dipping sauce! NEVER!

  13. karen December 19, 2014 at 6:25 PM #

    I love mine with ketchup and all alone in its corn dog glorious-ness!!

  14. Ashley Gore December 20, 2014 at 1:10 AM #

    Yum! Corn dogs!! Oh how I’ve missed them! (& hilarious meme,ps).

    I like them crunchy on the outside with a squiggle of mustard down the length ..& a few dots of ketchup in between the curves… And I eat them dancing … Because they’re so awesome they make me dance – stick in hand! Yeah!

  15. Alicia June 11, 2015 at 8:49 PM #

    I like mine with ketchup and have been known to snub a corn dog if the hot dog isn’t 100% beef, but haven’t had one or found one yet that was GF since I found out I have Celiac at first of may. So now I guess I have one more thing to look for at Kroger.

Leave a Reply

